From Rafa Leon at IAC: The Omega Nebula


Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias – IAC

Rafa Leon

Omega nebula by Rafa Leon

The Omega Nebula (aka the Swan Nebula, Shoehorn Nebula, Lobster Nebula, M17 and NGC 6618) is an H II region in the constellation Sagittarius. It was discovered by Philippe Loys de Cheseaux in 1745. Charles Messier cataloged it in 1764.

The Omega Nebula is located at a distance between 5000 and 6000 Light-years, and has a size of about 15 light years in diameter, being associated with a molecular cloud of about 40 light years in diameter and a Mass of 30000 solar masses. The total mass of the Nebula Omega is estimated at about 800 solar masses and is one of the most brilliant hii regions and mass of our galaxy; if it does not appear more impressive is starting to be practically “singing”.

There is a cluster (NGC 6618) in the nebula, which contains in its centre two stars of the spectral type o4v, plus two stars of type o5v, and 100 stars of spectral type sooner than the b9. is the radiation of These young stars and hot-especially that of the two o4v-LA that excites and makes shine the fumes of the nebula; recent studies show that this is one of the youngest clusters known, with an age that can’t come to the million Years and that the nebula surely houses between 8000 and 10000 stars that have been born in her, 1/3 of them in the cluster NGC 6618.

To the southeast of the nebula can also be found the stars hipergigantes HD 168607 and HD 168625.
First processing of the M17 hope to improve eye Canon 550D without any modification, Tube APO TS 106 F / 5 400s are 40 outlets to 800 outlets calibration iso more.
Rafael Leon Batista © 2016 Gran Canaria

Received via email, no link.

Please help promote STEM in your local schools.


Stem Education Coalition
The Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias(IAC) is an international research centre in Spain which comprises:

The Instituto de Astrofísica, the headquarters, which is in La Laguna (Tenerife).
The Centro de Astrofísica en La Palma (CALP)
The Observatorio del Teide (OT), in Izaña (Tenerife).
The Observatorio del Roque de los Muchachos (ORM), in Garafía (La Palma).

These centres, with all the facilities they bring together, make up the European Northern Observatory(ENO).

The IAC is constituted administratively as a Public Consortium, created by statute in 1982, with involvement from the Spanish Government, the Government of the Canary Islands, the University of La Laguna and Spain’s Science Research Council (CSIC).

The International Scientific Committee (CCI) manages participation in the observatories by institutions from other countries. A Time Allocation Committee (CAT) allocates the observing time reserved for Spain at the telescopes in the IAC’s observatories.

The exceptional quality of the sky over the Canaries for astronomical observations is protected by law. The IAC’s Sky Quality Protection Office (OTPC) regulates the application of the law and its Sky Quality Group continuously monitors the parameters that define observing quality at the IAC Observatories.

The IAC’s research programme includes astrophysical research and technological development projects.

The IAC is also involved in researcher training, university teachingand outreachactivities.

The IAC has devoted much energy to developing technology for the design and construction of a large 10.4 metre diameter telescope, the ( Gran Telescopio CANARIAS, GTC), which is sited at the Observatorio del Roque de los Muchachos.

Gran Telescopio  Canarias at the Roque de los Muchachos Observatory on the island of La Palma, in the Canaries, SpainGran Telescopio CANARIAS, GTC
Gran Telescopio CANARIAS, GTC