From Rutgers: “Rutgers Physics Professor Elected to National Academy of Sciences”

Rutgers University
Rutgers University

May 16, 2016

Todd Bates

Alexander Zamolodchikov, a renowned professor of physics at Rutgers University, has been elected to the prestigious National Academy of Sciences.

He joins 83 other newly elected members and 21 foreign associates from 14 countries. They were named in recognition of their distinguished and ongoing research achievements, according to the academy. New members will be formally inducted into the academy at its annual meeting next year.

“I am pleased and excited, and I will be greatly honored to become a part of this distinguished institution,” Zamolodchikov said. “I regard this as recognition of the overall importance of the area of theoretical physics which I, along with my colleagues at Rutgers and around the world, have helped to develop.”

Photo: Alexander Zamolodchikov, professor of physics at Rutgers University. Courtesy of Alexander Zamolodchikov

Zamolodchikov, known as Sasha, is a native of Dubna in the Moscow Region of Russia. He’s conducted groundbreaking research in theoretical and mathematical physics, focusing on quantum field theories and statistical physics. His most notable research is in the areas of conformal and integrable quantum field theories.

Zamolodchikov, Board of Governors professor of physics at Rutgers, earned a master’s degree in nuclear physics and engineering at the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology. He earned a doctorate in theoretical and mathematical physics at the Institute of Theoretical and Experimental Physics in Moscow in 1978.

Zamolodchikov was a researcher at the L.D. Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics in Moscow from 1978 to 1990, when he became a professor of physics at Rutgers. He became a Board of Governor’s professor of physics at Rutgers in 2005.

Zamolodchikov has won numerous awards and honors, including: the Lenin Komsomol Prize; American Physical Society Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics; Alexander von Humboldt Research Award; Chair Blaise Pascal; American Physical Society Lars Onsager Prize; ICTP Dirac Medal; and Pomeranchuk Prize. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He also won a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship.

With its recent announcement, the National Academy of Sciences now has 2,291 active members, along with 465 foreign associates. Foreign associates are nonvoting members who are not U.S. citizens.

The National Academy of Sciences – a private, nonprofit institution established in 1863 under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln – recognizes achievement in science. It provides science, technology and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations through the National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine and National Research Council.

See the full article here .

Please help promote STEM in your local schools.


Stem Education Coalition

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, is a leading national research university and the state’s preeminent, comprehensive public institution of higher education. Rutgers is dedicated to teaching that meets the highest standards of excellence; to conducting research that breaks new ground; and to providing services, solutions, and clinical care that help individuals and the local, national, and global communities where they live.

Founded in 1766, Rutgers teaches across the full educational spectrum: preschool to precollege; undergraduate to graduate; postdoctoral fellowships to residencies; and continuing education for professional and personal advancement.

Rutgers Original seal