From Livermore Lab: “U.S. scientists celebrate Nobel Prize for Higgs discovery”

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Donald B Johnston, LLNL, (925) 423-4902,

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the Nobel Prize in physics today to theorists Peter Higgs and Francois Englert to recognize their work developing the theory of what is now known as the Higgs field, which gives elementary particles mass.

U.S. scientists, including researchers at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL), played a significant role in advancing the theory and in discovering the particle that proves the existence of the Higgs field, the Higgs boson.

Nearly 2,000 physicists from U.S. institutions — including 89 U.S. universities and seven U.S. Department of Energy laboratories — participate in the ATLAS and CMS experiments, making up about 23 percent of the ATLAS collaboration and 33 percent of CMS at the time of the Higgs discovery. Brookhaven National Laboratory serves as the U.S. hub for the ATLAS experiment, and Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory serves as the U.S. hub for the CMS experiment. U.S. scientists provided a significant portion of the intellectual leadership on Higgs analysis teams for both experiments.

Lawrence Livermore joined the Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) experiment in 2005. LLNL contributions include: assisted in development of the trigger system that captures Higgs and other phenomena for the CMS experiment; and a leadership role in developing the software that reconstructs raw data into the physics objects that form the basis of all analyses. Lab researchers are now working on a novel physics analysis and leading a detector upgrade that can discover new particles and reveal information about the Higgs.

Lowering of the final element (YE-1) of the Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) detector into its underground experimental cavern.

The LLNL team on CMS is Doug Wright, David Lange, Jeff Gronberg and postdoc Finn Rebassoo. Former LLNL postdocs currently on CMS are Jonathan Hollar (now at University of Louvain, Belgium) and Bryan Dahmes (now at University of Minnesota).

Support for the U.S. effort comes from the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science and the National Science Foundation.

See the full article here.

Operated by Lawrence Livermore National Security, LLC, for the Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security
DOE Seal

ScienceSprings is powered by MAINGEAR computers